THE HISTORY
From the 17th century to the present day
Villa Premoli is a 17th-century Venetian villa, situated at the foot of Monte Tomba, just a few minutes from Possagno, the village of the great Antonio Canova, creator of sculptural masterpieces such as the famous statues: Cupid and Psyche, the Three Graces, Paolina Borghese, and many other works of art housed in the nearby Gipsoteca named after him.
The Villa, once owned by the Bianchi family – wool merchants who had been established in the village of Obledo since the 15th century – was passed down through the female line, and thus became, in the second half of the 19th century, the property of the noble Premoli family, from whom Enrico Spagnolo, the current owner along with his wife Paola, is a descendant.
The three-storey main building is surrounded by an Italian-style garden, featuring an ancient Venetian well, the stables and a fine barchessa with a loggia overlooking the Asolo hills. Not to be missed is the charming wine cellar, whose origins are attested by a date carved into the stone, dating it back to 1679.
The oldest part of the present-day villa, with the typical layout of a Venetian house, is divided into three sections: a central hall running the length of the building, flanked by four side rooms.
Opposite the villa lies the traditional ‘brolo’ – that is, the land formerly used for growing fruit, plants and vegetables – which at Villa Premoli is known as ‘cioère’, derived from ‘chiodère’, meaning the place where, in the past, wooden rake-like tools with nail-like ends were used for processing wool.
Today, the orchard has been converted into a vineyard, where Enrico passionately produces an organically certified Prosecco Asolo DOCG, the pride of the estate.